St. Peter Softball team wins first place in extra innings


The St. Peter coach pitch softball team won the tournament last week at Sandoval.  They finished the season 9-1.  Front Row- Kelsey Dippold, Reagan Roberts, Lauren Jenne,  Second Row- Jaylyn Michel, Jossy Krueger, Sidney Shumate, Emma Jenne, Olivia Brauer, Mackenzie Webb, Kaley Blomberg. 3rd Row- John Michel, Umpire, Scott Brauer, and Phil Shumate.  Not pictured. Cindy Cross, and Kathleen Roberts.



Patton off to solid start with new team

ROUND ROCK – For Spencer Patton, a change of location looks to be just what the doctor ordered.  After struggling in his final few outings for Omaha, Patton has found his groove for the Round Rock Express, Triple-A affiliate for the Texas Rangers.

After debuting for the Express on Saturday, Patton has pitched in a total of 3 games.  His latest coming Tuesday night at Oklahoma City where the hard throwing right hander earned the save.  In one inning of work, Patton struck out 2 and did not allow a hit.

In fact, Patton has thrown 3 innings since the trade and has not allowed a hit or a run.  He has struck out 4 and walked nobody.


King helps S.I. Dragons to 3rd Place at Mattoon Bagel Fest

10523965_10152692408093273_189624598_nMATTOON – 16U SI Dragons placed 3rd out of 23 teams at Mattoon Bagel Fest over the weekend and featured South Central hurler Abby King.

The Dragons opened play Friday night by defeating Bloomington Normal Pride 9-0.

Saturday morning the Dragons would defeat Centralia Sonics 2-1 and would set up four games on Sunday.

The Dragons dropped the first game 7-3 to the host Mattoon Pride then defeated the Trenton Thunder 15-5.  The Dragons would go on to defeat the Illiana Sparks 3-1 setting up a rematch with the Mattoon Pride.  The Dragons would drop the game 10-1 to finish 3rd.

SI Dragons finish the year 19-12.


New boating safety laws

Summer 2014 is well underway and I know there are a lot of people who are boating enthusiasts, whether fishing, skiing or just boating for the fun of a ride with family and friends.

As you are well aware, the lakes and rivers of Illinois can become quite crowded and safety is always a concern. Three new boating safety measures are among bills recently signed into law that you should be made aware.
Continue reading…


Kelly Taylor running for Fayette County Clerk & Recorder

Kelly Taylor is running for Fayette County Clerk & Recorder in this year’s November 4 election.

The County Clerk & Recorder is in charge of Real Estate Records, Voter Registration, Birth and Death Records, Marriage and Civil Union Licenses, Delinquent Taxes, County Board Records and General County Information.

“I have worked in the Fayette County Clerk & Recorder’s Office for over 11 years and currently serve as Chief Deputy County Clerk,” said Taylor. “The current County Clerk & Recorder, Terri Braun, is retiring after serving three terms. It has been a pleasure to work for her and a honor to be able to run for her position. I have the knowledge and experience that the position requires and I look forward to serving the people of Fayette County.

She lives in Augsburg with her husband, Shane and children, Philip (22 months) and Julia (5 months).